Board of Trustees

As a charter school, GCCS operates independently of the Rochester City School District and reports directly to the New York State Board of Regents through the State Education Department. 

The GCCS Board of Trustees is responsible for ensuring that the school operates in a fiscally sound manner and maintains fidelity to the philosophy, program, and policies set forth in the school’s charter.

Important Information About Our Upcoming Meetings:



TAKE NOTICE that an in-person special meeting of the Board of Trustees of
Genesee Community Charter School has been called and will be held on
November 29, 2021, at 6:00pm at the Rochester Museum & Science
Center/Cunningham House, 657 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14607.

The meeting is being called for the purpose of considering and acting on a proposed
Plan of Merger between Genesee Community Charter School and Genesee
Community Charter School – Flour City, the said meeting to be held in accordance
with and pursuant to Article 7 of the New York Public Officers’ Law.


The next routine Genesee Community Charter School Board of Trustees Meeting will be Wednesday, December 8th, 2021 at 5:30 p.m This meeting will be held at the Cunningham House Studio located on the campus of the Rochester Museum and Science Center.

Items on the Agenda:

Please note that one member is only able to attend remotely for this meeting and therefore will allow for public viewing in the following place:

Annemarie Wess – 249 Ringwood Dr, Winter Springs, FL 32708

Meeting Dates for the  2021 – 2022 school year can be found HERE.

The GCCS Board of Trustees

  • Includes community representatives, parents, and museum representatives.
  • Meets at 5:30 p.m. on the first or second Wednesday of each month at the Cunningham House Studio on the campus of the Rochester Museum and Science Center.
  • Approves minutes from the previous meeting, hears a report from one of our teaching teams, examines financial statements, and receives an update from our school leader.
  • Creates or approves policies, such as the bullying or chaperone policies.

Board Members

Michele Hannagan board page 1

Michele Hannagan


(585) 271-4552 ext. 460

Nicola Murray Fields 150x150 1

Nolica Murray-Fields

Community Representative

(585) 271-4552 ext. 460

Allison Shultes

Allison Shultes

RMSC Representative

(585) 271-4552 ext. 460

Kevin Sutherland

Kevin Sutherland


(585) 271-4552 ext. 460

Annemarie Wess board page

Annemarie Wess

Vice President

(585) 271-4552 ext. 460

  • Michele Hannagan, President
  • Annemarie Wess, Vice President
  • Kevin Sutherland, Treasurer
  • Allison Shultes, Secretary
  • Mark Schiesser, Community Representative
  • Joshua Stapf, Community Representative
  • Elizabeth Pietrzykowski, RMSC Representative
  • Ryan O'Malley, Community Representative
  • Nolica Murray-Fields, Community Representative
  • Nathaniel Sheppard, Community Representative
  • Tasha Stevens, Community Representative
  • Traci Terrance, Parent Representative
  • Charlie Johnson, Parent Representative
  • Jessica Wanner, Parent Representative

Education Governance Council Representatives

The following GCCS staff members attend all Board of Trustees meetings  serving as additional representatives of the Education Governance Council (EGC).  The EGC includes all members of the Board of Trustees as well as these three staff members to offer advice for any action of the Board of Trustees on any matter not related to an employment relationship.   However, the Board of Trustees can override the Education Governance Council if 75% of the BOT members present determine a different decision.

Maggie Deutschbein 1

Maggie Deutschbein

First Grade Teacher

(585) 271-4552 ext. 460

Shannon Hillman 1

Shannon Hillman

School Leader

(585) 271-4552 ext. 460

Becki Mason 1

Becki Mason

Fifth Grade Teacher

(585) 271-4552 ext. 460

To contact Board Members: please call 585-271-4552 x460 and leave a message.

Board Meetings & Minutes

Minutes from each month’s meeting are available on the school’s website after they are formally approved and adopted by the Board.  Please see below.

Board of Trustees meetings held from April 2020 through June 2021 remotely were all recorded and transcribed.

Here are the links to each meeting recording:

June, 2021; May, 2021; April, 2021; March, 2021; February, 2021 (transcription); January, 2021 (transcription); December, 2020 (transcription); November, 2020 (transcription); October, 2020 (transcription); September, 2020 (transcription); August, 2020 (transcription); June, 2020 (transcription); May, 2020 (transcription); April, 2020 (transcription)

They are also available to the public upon request to the School Leader, Shannon Hillman (

FOIL Policy

GCCS created a FOIL policy when the charter was initially approved in 2000.  To view the full policy, click here.

The School’s most recent FOIL requests have been related to:

  • Employee salaries, certifications, and dates of hire
  • Contracted vendors
  • Enrollment and retention data
  • IRS 990 Tax Filing
  • Board Meeting Minutes
  • Lease agreements.