艺术

学习创造

从创造到学习

我们独特的艺术整合方法,让艺术支持课堂学习,让课堂学习支持艺术。

艺术

艺术构成了吉尼斯社区特许学校文化的基础,在创造一个温暖、诱人、合作的氛围中发挥了关键作用,学生在这种氛围中发展他们的社会和学术技能,加强他们的自我表达能力。

音乐、视觉艺术、舞蹈和创意运动是每个孩子的社会和学术发展的核心部分,也是学校每个学习考察的核心部分。 通过艺术,学生们学会了在文字、历史和文化以及概念层面上创造性地表达他们的理解。艺术使学生能够加强和扩展他们对课堂上所学的概念和内容的洞察力。

学生在创作过程中,探索音乐、视觉艺术、舞蹈和创意运动与另一学科领域之间的联系,在这两个领域获得更多的理解。这种体验是相互促进的,为学生学习更多的内容提供了一个真实的背景,随着学生对内容的深入研究,他们不断增长的理解加深了他们的艺术表达。

GCCS艺术整合

音乐

孩子们沉浸在音乐中,无论是在课堂上还是在每周的音乐课上。采用奥尔夫-舒尔克方法进行教学,他们唱歌、演奏、作曲和跳舞,理解复杂的考察内容。他们体验来自许多不同民族和地方的音乐,并接触到各种各样的音乐形式,如歌剧、爵士乐和非洲鼓乐。当孩子们离开GCCS时,他们已经学会了创造和欣赏音乐,并配备了音乐工具,这将有助于他们在其他音乐事业上取得成功。

打鼓的照片

身体远征

我们的体育考察项目强调运动、舞蹈和协作游戏。通过运动,孩子们学会用他们的身体来表达他们的探险内容和概念。孩子们除了学习瑜伽、卡波耶拉、芭蕾舞、踢踏舞和现代舞的基础知识外,还学会了编排自己的运动作品。他们还通过培养平衡、力量、耐力和灵活性来学习健康的健身习惯。对传统体育也给予了一些关注,特别是在高年级。在学生探索历史和全球娱乐传统的过程中,体育和游戏被纳入课程。

2017年全球水舞大会

视觉艺术

我们对当地历史的关注,自然而然地将视觉艺术融入到学习考察中。实地考察给了孩子们充分的机会来锻炼和提高他们观察、叙述和视觉记录所学的技能。此外,学生们在日常班级工作和每周的艺术课上创造艺术表现。例如,一系列的艺术作品可能代表了他们围绕特定内容或概念的思考和问题解决的几次反复。

点击图片,查看幻灯片。

2024-2025 年学生申请已上线!

有关 2024-2025 学年申请的更多信息,请参阅招生网页。

The arts

Learn to Create

Create to Learn

Our unique approach to arts integration allows the arts to support classroom learning and classroom learning to support the arts.

The Arts

The arts form the foundation of the culture of Genesee Community Charter School, playing a critical role in creating a warm, inviting, collaborative atmosphere in which students develop their social and academic skills and strengthen their capacity for self-expression.

Music, visual arts, dance, and creative movement are a central part of each child’s social and academic development and each learning expedition at the school.  Through the arts, students learn to express their understanding creatively at a literal, historical and cultural, and conceptual level. The arts allow students to reinforce and extend their insights into the concepts and content they are studying in the classroom.

Students engage in the creative process to explore connections between music, visual arts, dance and creative movement and another subject area to gain greater understanding in both. The experience is mutually reinforcing and provides an authentic context for students to learn more content, and as students delve deeper into the content, their growing understandings deepen their artistic expression.

GCCS Arts Integration

Music

Children are immersed in music, both in the classroom and in their weekly music class. Taught using the Orff-Schulwerk approach, they sing, play, compose, and dance their understanding of complex expedition content. They experience music from many different peoples and places, and are exposed to a wide variety of musical forms, such as opera, jazz, and African drumming. By the time children leave GCCS, they have learned to create and appreciate music and are equipped with musical tools that will help them succeed in other musical endeavors.

Physical Expedition

Our physical expedition program emphasizes movement, dance, and collaborative games. Through movement, children learn to use their bodies to express the content and concepts of their expeditions. Children are taught to choreograph their own movement pieces, in addition to learning the basics of yoga, capoeira, ballet, tap, and modern dance. They also learn healthy habits of fitness by building balance, strength, endurance, and flexibility. Some attention is given to traditional sports, particularly at the upper grades. Sports and games are woven into the curriculum as students explore historic and global recreation traditions.

2017 Global Water Dance

Visual Arts

Our focus on local history naturally lends itself to integrating visual arts into learning expeditions. Field studies give children ample opportunities to exercise and improve their skills in observing, narrating, and visually recording what they have learned. In addition, students create artistic representations during daily class work and weekly classes in art. A series of artworks, for example, might represent several iterations of their thinking and problem solving around specific content or concepts.

Click on an image to view slideshow.